SPECIAL MEETING

BOARD OF REGENTS NEVADA SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION

Members Present: Dr. Jason Geddes, Presiding Officer

Mr. Joseph C. Arrascada Mr. Patrick J. Boylan Mr. Byron Brooks Ms. Amy J. Carvalho Mrs. Carol Del Carlo

Dr. Mark W0o9 ((a)4 iv (k) (r)3v0 (W0)c(a))Tj(k) ID 22 >> BDC -8.5 4M-4

Ms. Laura E. Perkins Dr. Lois Tarkanian

Members Absent: Dr. Patrick R. Carter

Others Present: Dr. Melody Rose, Chancellor

Mr. Caleb Cage, Vice Chancellor, Workforce Development and

Chief Innovation Officer

Ms. Yvonne Nevare Soodson, Deputy General Counsel Ms. Keri Nikolajewski, Interim Chief of Staff to the Board

Dr. Feder12 (ev)2h4 (t)85k (B)a-4 (r)--7 (ag)(ev)2hza-1 (,)-P4 (8D)-2 0IM12

Ms. Joyce M. Helens, President, GBC Mr. Brian Sandoval, President, UNR

Faculty senate chairs in attendance were: Dr. Dave Rhode, DRI; Dr. Samantha Jewell, NSC; Dr. Virginia Irintcheva,TMCC; Ms. Shannon Sumpter, UNLV; Dr. Amy Pason, UNR; and Mr. Jim Strange, WNC. Student body president in attendaraseMr. Austin Brown, ASUN President, UNR.

Ms. Rosalie M. Bordelove, Chief Deputy Attorney General, Boards and Open Government Division, was also in attendance.

Regent Geddesalled the meeting to order at 8:200m. with all members present except Regent Carter.

2. Action Taken– Election of Officers Pro Tempore

Regent Moramominated Regent Dearlo for Chair Pro Tempore and Regent Carvalho for Vice Chair Pro Tempore.

Regent Perkins nominated Regent Arrascada for Chair Pro Tempore and Regent Brooks for Vice Chair Pro Tempore.

Regent Moran asked for consideration of his motion on the floor. Presiding Officer Geddes stated that a second on the motion is not required elections and he would take independent roll callotes for separate nominations on the elections

Regent Moran asked for clarification about who is eligible to vote concerning the vacated positions under the Bylaws. Deputy General Counsel Nevaceus on acknowledged the disclosure and abstention from Regent McAdoo, which was based upon her advice because the agenda item affects her resignation as a result of a pending personnel action in which she was named, and that shene advice would have appet to Regent Carter if he were present.

1. Chair Pro Tempore

Regents Carvalho, Del Carlo, Doubra Geddes, McMichael, Moran, and Tarkanian voted for Regent Del Carlo for Chair Pro Tempore. Regents Arrascada, Boylan, Brooks, and Perkins voted no. Regent McAdoo abstained. Regent Carter was absent.

Regents Arrascada, Boylan, Brooks, Gedded, a Perkins voted for Regent Arrascada for Chair Pro Tempore. Regents Carvalho, Del Carlo, Doubrava, McMichael, Moran, and Tarkanian voted no. Regent McAdoo abstained. Regent Carter was absent.

Regent Del Carlo was elected Chair Pro Tempore.

2. Vice ChairPro Tempore

Regents Carvalho, Del Carlo, Doubrava, Geddes, McMichael, Moran, and Tarkanian voted for Regent Carvalho for Vice Chair Pro Tempore. Regents Arrascada, Boylan, Brooks, and Perkins voted no. Regent McAdoo abstained. Regent Carter was absent.