BOARD OF REGENTS and its INCLUSION, DIVERSITY, EQUITY AND ACCESS COMMITTEE NEVADA SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION

University of Nevada, Reno Joe Crowley Student Union, Milt Glick Ballrooms B & C 87 West Stadium Way, Reno Friday, June 10, 2022

Video Conference Connection from the Meeting Site to:
System Administration, Las Vegas
4300 South Maryland Parkway, Board Room
and
Great Basin College, Elko
1500 College Parkway, Berg Hall Conference Room

Members Present: Ms. Laura E. Perkins, Chair

Mr. Joseph C. Arrascada, Vice Chair

Mr. Patrick J. Boylan Dr. Patrick R. Carter

Mr. Donald Sylvantee McMichael Sr.

Mr. John T. Moran

Other Regents Present: Mrs. Cathy McAdoo, Board Chair

Mr. Byron Brooks Ms. Amy J. Carvalho Mrs. Carol Del Carlo Dr. Jason Geddes

Others Present: Ms. Keri D. Nikolajewski, Interim Chief of Staff to the Board

Dr. Constance Brooks, Vice Chancellor of Public Affairs

and Advancement

Mr. Andrew Clinger, Chief Financial Officer

Ms. Terina Caserto, Senior Analyst, Academic & Student Affairs

Ms. Renée Davis, Acting Vice Chancellor for Academic

and Student Affairs and Community Colleges Mr. James Martines, Interim Chief General Counsel

Ms. Tina Russom, Deputy General Counsel Mr. Joseph Sunbury, Chief Internal Auditor Mr. Harry Ward, Deputy Attorney General Dr. Federico Zaragoza, CSN President Dr. Kumud Acharya, DRI President Ms. Joyce M. Helens, GBC President Dr. DeRionne P. Pollard, NSC President

Dr. Karin M. Hilgersom, TMCC

Dr. Keith E. Whitfield, UNLV President Mr. Brian Sandoval, UNR President Dr. J. Kyle Dalpe, WNC Interim President

Faculty senate chairs in attendance were: Dr. Julian Smit, CSN; Dr. Dave Rhode, DRI; Mr. Kevin Seipp, GBC; Dr. Samantha Jewell, NSC; Mr. Glenn Heath, System Administration; Dr. Virginia Irintcheva, TMCC; Ms. Shannon Sumpter, UNLV; Dr. Amy Pason, UNR; and Mr. Jim Strange. WNC. Student body presidents in attendance were: Ms. Yvette Machado, CSN; Mr. Zachary Stamp, GBC; Ms. Tessa Espinosa, NSC; Mr. John Fenton, TMCC; Mr. Issac Hernandez, UNLV-CSUN; Ms. Dionne Stanfill, UNR-ASUN; and Mr. Matthew Hawn, UNR-GSA.

Vice Chair Joseph C. Arrascada called the meeting to order at 9:19 a.m. with all members present.

- 1. <u>Information Only-Public Comment</u> YeVonne Allen, TMCC, congratulated TMCC Vice President of Student Services and Diversity Estela Gutierrez on receiving the National AAHHE (American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education) Community College award and an award from the IDEA Council recognizing her 30 years of service to TMCC and her efforts in promoting inclusion, diversity, equity and access.
- 2. <u>Approved-Minutes</u> The Committee recommended approval of the minutes from the December 3, 2021, meeting of the Board of Regents' Cultural Diversity Committee. (*Ref. IDEA-2 on file in the Board Office*)

Regent McMichael moved approval of the minutes from the December 3, 2021, meeting. Chair Perkins bedathSet02Mont208869w (4) 10;2NoST49DC2I(6Fix)

4. <u>Information Only-Americans with Disabilities Act Plan Review Committee</u> – (continued)

restroom facilities; Priority 4 - other features and amenities; and Priority 5 - employee spaces based on need; the estimated cost for each of the five priorities; and 2022 accomplishments and benefits.

Board Chair McAdoo, Regent Boylan, Regent Brooks, President Sandoval and Ms. Baclawski discussed the following topics: the timeline and funding for the ADA Plan Review Committee's top priorities, the current focus on items that are out of compliance and inaccessible, and addressing ADA issues across all NSHE campuses.

Vice Chair Arrascada added that ADA issues are also on campuses across the country and former Regent Sam Lieberman worked tirelessly to resolve inaccessibility on the NSHE campuses during his tenure on the Board.

Vice Chair Arrascada acknowledged that Ms. Baclawski is retiring, and it was her final Board meeting. He commended her for her 23 years of service to UNR.

5. <u>Information Only-NSHE Northern Nevada Diversity Summit Highlights</u> – Eloisa Gordon----e e--

6. <u>Information Only-Award Presentation</u> – (continued)

Ms. Gutierrez thanked the IDEA Council and reminded the IDEA Committee members of their vital and critical work, especially in this challenging age. She also thanked Vice Chancellor Constance Brooks for her hard work over the years, modeling integrity and hope for all.

- 7. <u>Information Only-New Business</u> Vice Chair Arrascada urged the IDEA Committee and Board to continue its work on recognizing and serving students with disabilities.
- 8. <u>Information Only-Public Comment</u> Dr. DeRionne P. Pollard, NSC President; Dr. Amy Pason, UNR Faculty Senate Chair; and Dr. Edith Fernandez, NSC Vice President of College and Community Engagement, offered comments in support of finalizing the NSHE Anti-Discrimination Resolution.

Larry Dailey expressed concerns around the UNR code and process for reporting complaints.

Dawson Deal expressed support in the areas of UNR's contribution to the NSHE's 2023-25 Biennial Proposal.

Edwin Lynger advocated for higher wages for part time faculty and graduate students.

The meeting adjourned at 10:24 a.m.

Prepared by: Winter M.N. Lipson

Special Assistant and Coordinator to the Board of Regents

Submitted for approval by: Keri D. Nikolajewski

Interim Chief of Staff to the Board of Regents

Approved by the Board of Regents at its September 8-9, 2022, meeting.