# CONSENT AGENDA BOARD OF REGENTS NEVADA SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION

Aspen Building, Sarah Winnemucca Hall Western Nevada College 2201 West College Parkway, Carson City Thursday-Friday, April 2-3, 2009

| ROLL CALL: | Mr. Michael B. Wixom, Chair  |  |
|------------|------------------------------|--|
|            | Dr. Jason Geddes, Vice Chair |  |
|            | Mr. Mark Alden               |  |
|            | Dr. Stavros S. Anthony       |  |
|            | Mr. Robert Blakely           |  |
|            | Mr. William G. Cobb          |  |
|            | Mr. Cedric Crear             |  |
|            | Mrs. Dorothy                 |  |

#### 2. ALLOCATION OF GRANTS-IN-AID, 2009-2010

#### **ACTION**

Nevada Revised Statutes 396.540(3) provides for tuition waivers for students from other states and foreign countries based on 3% of each institution's fall headcount enrollment. Board policy provides an equal number of grants-in-aid for Nevada students and requires that the total number of grants-in-aid allocated to each NSHE institution be approved annually by the Board. The recommended allocations are for academic year 2009-2010 and represent the total number each institution could award. In all cases, funding is not sufficient to support the maximum allowable number of grants-in-aid:

|      | IN-STATE | <b>OUT-OF-STATE</b> |
|------|----------|---------------------|
| UNR  | 507      | 507                 |
| UNLV | 837      | 837                 |
| NSC  | 64       | 64                  |
| CSN  | 1,253    | 1,253               |
| GBC  | 101      | 101                 |
| TMCC | 394      | 394                 |
| WNC  | 157      | 157                 |

# 3. BOARD OF REGENTS' SCHOLAR, AWARD RECIPIENT, TMCC

**ACTION** 

TMCC President Maria C. Sheehan requests that the NSHE Board of Regents waive the Board policy (*Title 4, Chapter 1, Section 15*) and award a second Nevada Regents' Scholar Award recipient from TMCC to Ms. Edith Gonzalez Duarte. (*Ref. C-3*)

#### 4. APPOINTMENT TO WESTED BOARD OF DIRECTORS

**ACTION** 

Vice Chancellor Jane Nichols requests approval of reappointment for an additional three-year term (June 1, 2009)

# **TENURE**

## 5. TENURE <u>ACTION</u>

The Presidents of the NSHE institutions request approval of tenure for the following faculty members. Each applicant meets the standards for tenure in the NSHE <u>Code</u> and has been positively recommended by his or her institution following a peer review process.

# $\underline{\mathbf{CSN}} - (\underline{\mathit{Ref. C-5a}})$

| Ms. Daveadele Abel        | Dr. Melodye Lehnerer             |
|---------------------------|----------------------------------|
| Mr. Robert Kenneth Aberle | Ms. Laura S. Martin              |
| Dr. Shankara Babu         | Ms. Laura McBride                |
| Ms. Mary Bennett          | Dr. Rhett Michelson              |
| Ms. Ann B. Bullis         | Ms. Nathalie Odom                |
| Dr. Bertrand A. Chiasson  | Mr. Jonathan G. Pearsall         |
| Mr. Christian M. Clark    | Ms. Tiwaporn Pongmarutai         |
| Mr. Jacob D. Elison       | Ms. Amy Lynn Ragnone             |
| Mr. Paul A. Herrle        | Ms. Patricia M. Riede            |
| Ms. Relinda Sue Hobson    | Dr. Nancy Linda (Panny) Schwartz |

Ms. Belinda Sue Hobson Dr. Nancy Linda (*Penny*) Schwartz

Ms. Shannon Larson

### $\underline{GBC} - (\underline{Ref.\ C-5b})$

| Ms. Caroline Bruno   | Dr. John Newman  |
|----------------------|------------------|
| Ms. Wendy Charlebois | Dr. Squy Wallace |
| Dr. Dale Griffith    | Dr. Laurie Walsh |

### $\underline{NSC} - (\underline{Ref. C-5c})$

| Dr. Daniel Grassian | Dr. Shirlee Snyder |
|---------------------|--------------------|
| D. V'. C'           |                    |

Dr. Kevin Graziano

# $\underline{\mathbf{TMCC}} - (\underline{\mathit{Ref. C-5d}})$

| Ms. Maria Arrigotti         | Ms. Brenda Jahnke   |
|-----------------------------|---------------------|
| Ms. Susan Bluhm             | Dr. Kathleen Kolbet |
| Mr. Dean Burton             | Dr. William Mehm    |
| Dr. Melissa Deadmond        | Mr. Kelly Oswald    |
| Dr. Heather Graham-Williams | Ms. Anne Witzleben  |

Mr. William Wade Hampton